Organizational Structure

Board Members

The management of Nigeria's energy resources presently, lies under the control of many organisations and institutions, amongst which is the Energy Commission of Nigeria, established as the apex organ of government for energy policy formulation and coordination. It was in recognition of the crucial role of energy, as earlier highlighted, that the government established a high powered Board for the Commission, consisting of the President, C-in-C, as the Chairman and with Ministers charged with the responsibility for the following matters (as contained in the Act) as members:-

  1. Agriculture and Rural Development
  2. Defence
  3. Environment
  4. Foreign Affairs
  5. Finance and Economic Development
  6. Petroleum Resources
  7. Power and Steel
  8. Science and Technology
  9. Water Resources

The Director-General of the Energy Commission of Nigeria is the Secretary to the Commission. The Commission has power to regulate its own proceedings.

The Board has the responsibility for the general management of the Commission while the day-to-day running of the affairs of the Commission is the responsibility of the Director-General. Also, the Act provides a Technical Arm for the Commission known as the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) .

Below is a chart in pdf of the Organisational Structure of the Energy Commission of Nigeria that you can download.

Organisational Strucure